New to Mac, yeah I know..

Opposition

Im an ex-PC musician who hasn't been in the loop since 2005. I just bought the most advanced MacBook Pro with an Apogee Duet. Garageband was installed with it so I am new to Mac and Ill admit that I am alittle overwhelmed. Back in the day I was used to using Sonar with FL studio which was pretty straight forward with little learning curve. Since Macs are designed for artists I assumed that it would be pretty straight forward. First off, after to trying to explore Garageband, it seems like an overly cumbersome toy. I have searched for tutorials on youtube and so on, but it seems that all of these tutorials are interested in prerecorded loops, and not original production. Plus, there doesn't seem to be a step sequencer, though the software claims to have one.

Does anyone have advice as to what is comparable to Sonar and FL studio for MacBook Pro with Yosemite OS X 10.10.1? It has to be at least capable of recording at 24/96. GarageBand claims to record at 24 bit, but its only at 44.1. I apologize if these are novice questions, but appreciate the feedback.

I'd honestly just use Logic X Pro on a Mac.
It's great for the home musician.

It's an Apple program and has HUGE support databases on inet.