New hardware choices

mcowing

Not a total newb but have a newb question.

Any advice on USB audio interfaces?

I've been using an M-audio USB duo (2000's) USB interface since they were new. They stopped making drivers after WinXP so I've been using ASIO4all. The lack of output volume control on the interface has lead me to believe I need a new interface. If you see from my other thread about my interface I had trouble routing audio so that I can hear my computer sounds (youtube, itunes, etc) at the same time as my DAW (Ableton) in Windows 10.

SO, I'm looking for something simple. I was looking at the Yamaha AG series mixers with usb interface built in. But that may be overkill. I basically only use it for electric guitar, but maybe mics in the future. If I stick with m-audio I've been looking at the m track 2x2m.

So many interfaces in the 2 input range have the same specs, so it must come down to pre-amp quality, longevity and user preference. All advice is appreciated!

My top reccy for a 'not quite' basic interface has been the Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 for some years and nothing has come along AFAIK to challenge it*. Why?
The AI has two very clean mic amps and the usual balanced line inputs/ high impedance instrument inputs (with decent headroom of around +10dBu IIRC) MIDI in and out plus two more balanced inputs giving you 4 track analogue recording capability plus S/PDIF. But, the major reason I cling to the KA6 as a good option is the drivers. I have had over 1/2 doz AIs over the last 10 years and nothing has been as stable or 'unfussy' as the KA. I go weeks and not use it but whenever and wherever I plug it in it just bloody works! The latency is also lower than anything else you are likely to see except RME (Google them if you don't know!)
The interface runs about £160-£180 now.