In need of some serious advice (long post)

G_Travis

So this is a little off-topic, but I'm having a quarter-life crisis and I could really use some outside opinions and some intelligent advice. I'm 25 and I've been dabbling with music on and off for a few years. I graduated from college with a Finance degree in August of '09 and I'm a 2lt in the Army Reserves. I've been struggling with what I want to do for a career and I've been doing a lot of thinking about where I am in life and where it is that I really want to go. I'm very ambitious and I'm very dedicated, but I'm currently stuck living with my parents in a place with little opportunity and not a lot of money. My family has never really been supportive of me and my ambitions, so I know that whatever path I take in life is going to be a very long and lonely journey. I feel like this place is sucking out all of my inspiration and drive, but I don't want to be rash and move to a place that is bad for me or that I can't afford. Also, I always have to be mindful of my military obligation and somehow work that into the equation.

Alright, so my background out of the way, I am really struggling with my newfound desire to pursue my love of music and my age, location, and military obligation. I've been working on my production capabilities using FL studio 9 and vocal abilities (rapping / singing) using audacity for playback and I have made a few tracks that people like but I know that I have a long way to go. I want to pursue a career as both an artist and as a producer. I could really use some advice on what equipment I need to invest in, the road I should be following, and the most efficient way to develop the skills and talent that I will need to succeed in this industry.

So basically my question to you guys is that if you were me, what would you do in order to add vision and a path to this dream and to turn it into a reality? And at 25... is it just too late?