Need help hearing playback in cubase.

axis_d

Hi everyone, I hope someone here can help. I have a total newbie question. I'm trying to do a test recording in cubase for the first time, and I see an input, but I hear nothing when It try playing it back.

I have an RME babyface interface, and I have just one mic plugged into an input, and two monitors connected to the outputs.

So I first set up my interface under "Device Setup". I then went to "VST connections" to set up my busses. I clicked on "add bus" and I set it up as mono, with the device port being Mic/Line 1. I tested it out and cubase is getting the signal, because the levels in the mixer go up and down when I talk into the mic.

I set up the output bus, as Stereo Out, with the device ports being Analog 1 and 2. I then armed the track, pressing the red record button, clicked the speaker icon next to it, and hit "record" on the transport window. I can see the levels on the track, but when I return the scroll bar to the beginning and try playing back, I hear nothing. Any ideas on what I'm missing?

Try leaving Record off and see if you are getting an output.

Also, try a set of headphones.

Also, is there a Blend or Mix control on the interface? adjust that to see if you get anything.

Ahh, simple sollution, I guess I had to turn the "monitor" icon off. I didn't realize that I needed to do that. But now that I can hear playback I have a new question, hopefully I can just piggy back on this thread instead of starting a new one..

any advice on how high the gain on my mic should be? I know that if it goes into the red, that's bad. But how far below should I have it? and Should I keep the fader at 0, and just adjust the gain on my interface? Or should I adjust the fader?