Need help fixing an Adobe Audition editing problem. I think it's noise reduction?

JohnTheChef

I'm not a very concise person, but I'll try to keep this organized & short-sweet-and-to-the-point.

Summary:

I have a podcast. I do all my editing like this guy: https://youtu.be/1k_0mPb6efI?t=700 (The editing part of the video is 3-minutes long).
The only difference is that I used noise reduction or adaptive noise reduction to get rid of my equipment noise. I'm an amateur who doesn't know the difference, but they both got rid of the noise I needed, so I would just choose one (I'm sure that makes some of you cringe). I use the exact same equipment as that guy, but for some reason my audio files have noisier equipment sounds; it's unpleasant for listeners so I use noise reduction.
(Btw, I can't ask him for help, because he charges an outrageous amount of money for information.)

The problem:

A certain unpleasant sound is occurring with the final cut. For the longest time I was unaware of its existence because it can only be heard with headphones; more specifically earbuds. I did my editing with computer speakers. When listening through computer speakers or a phone speaker, it sounds excellent. With earbuds it sounds like I'm picking up some weird space signal and the audio quality sounds very 'airy'. Like the room is very spacious.

Process of elimination:

Of course I thought it was my equipment, so I set everything up as I normally do, then read Charlie Chaplin's speech from the movie The Dictator. Then I removed the mouse from my laptop and read it again. Then I removed my laptops power adapter...and read it again. Then I turned off the laptops WiFi and Bluetooth, then I turned off everything in the room that was unnecessary (and moved the laptop out), then I tried various mixer settings and equipment settings....etc. I continued this process of elimination and then compared each audio-file together.