My recordings are overly quiet

Diimi

Hi everybody,

I'm just starting out with a RME babyface and Pro tools. I am encountering a big problem : my recording are overly quiet. I mean, when I look at the signal representation of my acoustic guitar tracks in pro tools, I can barely say when I am playing and when I am not.
I think I stage the gain right though : I play a loud guitar part and I set the gain so that the peaks don't go over -10.

So I'm desperately looking for an answer to my problem.
Thank you all :)

Likely an issue with the scale you use to present your track information.
Reaper would need a zoom in treatement. Not sure how PT works....

As far as seeing the signal, you can just zoom in but as to being quiet... no worries. That's normal.

You can bump it up as you get into the mixing and "mastering" stage. The key is you're leaving headroom. That's a good thing. Don't sweat the volume. :)

Hi everybody,

I'm just starting out with a RME babyface and Pro tools. I am encountering a big problem : my recording are overly quiet. I mean, when I look at the signal representation of my acoustic guitar tracks in pro tools, I can barely say when I am playing and when I am not.
I think I stage the gain right though : I play a loud guitar part and I set the gain so that the peaks don't go over -10.

So I'm desperately looking for an answer to my problem.
Thank you all :)

Check your main output volume.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n6SD0tTuseY

Hope this helps.

Honestly, until you get to the mastering stage, there is no such thing as too quiet. Unless your tracks are coming in at -65db or something, it's nothing to worry about. Just turn up your speakers. It's totally normal that they seem quiet compared to the finished products you might be comparing them to. Like others have said, it might also just be a "view" thing. See if you're able to zoom in on your wave form if you have to.