My "I am just getting started" thread

Olihen

Hello
I purchased full version of Cubase Artist recently and I am about to get into home recording/making my own music. I will first introduce myself and then ask you some questions.

Who am I: I am a 22 years old student from Czech Republic. I study medicine at the university and also composition on jazz music conservatory (yes I am such a nerd that I study two schools at once). I started taking music seriously when i was approximately 14 years old, when I started playing piano (I played piano since I was 6 years old, but I was practicaly expelled from the lessons, because I totaly hated it :D). Now I am about to quit the jazz conservatory, because I feel that I will advance more by trying to make my own music that represents me rather than studying and doing all the assignments etc. and also the medicine school consumes a lot of time and along with the conservatory I have a very small amount of free time for myself.

What is my goal: To make listenable home demos I can post on the internet for criticism and show to other musicians to make them want to play with me live :). I listened to a really a lot of genres during my life like metal, hiphop, jazz, ethno music, RNB etc. so I want to make some fusion of all these genres but first of all I would like to learn how to make some jazz-influenced beats as an accompaniment to rap (since I really love to write lyrics and it wouldnt need real instruments).

What is not my goal: I dont really need to record any live intruments (in the future I woul like to record vocals maybe), I also dont want to use any loops (maybe only some drum patterns) or premade material because I feel that I really should use all the stuff I learned during the 4 years of studying the composition at the conservatory :). My primary focus is to learn how to work with MIDI and virtual instruments and Cubase