Multi track recording

weeo

Hi All, Newbie here so apologies if this has been discussed before. I'm about to upgrade my recording system, but before i do i'd like some advice.
I'm a guitarist/vocalist ,using midifile backing tracks.
I use Audacity to convert midi files to WAV / mp3. I'd like to add further tracks guitar / harmonies etc. on to the original .
The problem i have is how can i overdub without the first track coming through the microphone as well.
Is there a mixing desk that can do this ? i'm thinking a switch main to headphones ??
or do i go down the Interface way ? Or is there something simple i am missing ?
I currently use Cakewalk to Windows thro a Roland JV1080 to an old Behringer desk.
Any help / advice would be appreciated, but i'm retired so please speak in language that this old guy would understand.
Thank You
Eddie

Well, yes, if you have yoru backing tracks plang through speakers, the sound is going to be picked up by the microphone. That's why closed-back headphones are used in the studio.

Headphones not the problem. Microphone is picking up The track .

Hmm? I think you mean the backing track is getting re-recorded along with the new material? If so this is a function of the recording software (called a DAW) and I dare say there is a way to stop it in Audacity but I would suggest you bite the bullet and get kitted out with a new rig.

Audacity is a great audio editor and if you know "software" a very powerful tool but as it comes it is not THE best 'DAW' for building tracks (I also did not think it 'did' MIDI but I have not tried) so, IMHO you need better software and you can kill two birds with one rock if you look for an Audio Interface that comes with a free DAW. I really rate the Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 and that comes with Cubase* reckoned to be one of the best for MIDI work. I think the Tascams also bundle a Cubase version.