Mixing Board AND Audio Interface?

HawaiiR

Hey guys,

Sort of a newbie here. I've been collecting gear for a while, and I'm finally starting to finish up my studio.
I have an A&H Zed 14 mixing board, but I've realized that I have more outboard gear than inputs on the mixer. I don't have space for a larger mixing board at the moment, so I can't really swap it out for a larger one. So, I've been thinking about getting an Arturia Audiofuse for the purpose of expanding my inputs, and I like that it has more input type options than the A&H.

Is this a bad idea, or is it bad praxis to have both a mixing board and an audio interface? If so, why?
And if not, whats the most efficient way to route the audio? Laptop > interface > mixing board > monitors?

Any help/feedback/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

Get a patchbay or two. No way are you going to be using all your outboard gear at the same time. Especially in this day of plugins.
Patch all your outboard gear into the bay and only patch what you need at the time into the mixer.

Is the Z14 presently your only interface? If so I see it only delivers a stereo mix for recording, and you might consider an interface with more channels such as one of the Tascams?

This, Arturia AudioFuse | does not give the interface an unqualified thumbs up and I would be wary of companies that 'dabble' in AIs? Better IMO to stick to the regular guys who are less likely to be found without a paddle when the next OS/Update comes down the creek of excrement.

The mixer does have 4 AUX sends and inserts, can you not utilize these, possibly with a patch bay as suggested? Outboard gear can also be put in series.

Dave.

Thanks, I think a single patch bay might do the trick? Are there brands you might recommend, or any you'd stay away from?
Not sure why I didn't think of this idea - I definitely won't need to have all my gear running at once, as you mentioned.