mixer and usb audio device to record on computer, need help

arewethereyet

ok, quick and simple, i just purchased the samson mdr1064 mixer and the m-audio fast track usb device, to get the audio to my computer. i wanna record my guitar and some drums just with a mic in front of my amp, and another in front of the drums, basic i know but im a beginner. i've hooked everything up, put a mic on the first channel to test it out, played around. anyways, i used nero's wave editor just to record some basic sounds, and it barely shows up on the computer. should I be using other software? i connected the mixer to the fast track with 2 1/4" stereo to one 1/4". any good websites to help me maybe? thanks

you should be plugging your mic into a mic channel (3 pin xlr input)
on the mixer. i'm sorry - i dont know much about the samson mixer - but i assume it preamps mics. are you doing this ?
if you want to try multitrack software, i use powertracks from pgmusic.com.
just try the demo. 49 bucks for 48 tracks.
also a helpfull pg forum of users that will help you, that helped me years ago when i started using it.
please tell me what brand of mic your using. and i'll try and help further.
peace.

thanks for the advice, yeah i'm plugging a samson r11 into the 1st channel xlr plug. and i've just learned to raise the gain knob, so the meter is nice and colorful now, even put the headphones on and heard it nice and loud on the mixer. problem seems to be the fast track or the computer itself. in the wave editor program i have, barely anything shows up on the little wave display. like, maybe some setting i've overlooked. ok, thanks for any help. and, i read in my manual that there are six mic pre's, if that helps.

I am having the same problem. but I am using CW Homestudio. I can get the all the lights on the mixer but the input levels within homestudio are weak? I think I have a button on the mixer that says preamp. Will that make a difference. I think I already tried that though.