Midi To Audio

thomas bolger

Hi,Newbie here. Im using cubase 7 to create my midi files. I then convert them to audio and they sound fine on my studio speakers but when i try them at a gig through my PA,they sound soft and weal and bass in particular is too much.
I only use bass and drums for backing.
How can i improve my bass and drums to make them more dynamic(like a midi file) if that makes sense

Thanks

No - it doesn't MIDI files don't sound like anything at all - it's the same as the lighting guys saying their DMX looks good or bad, when MIDI, DMX and other protocols are just information. Why are you creating MIDI files? You mean you are creating backing tracks that sound good on your system but sound poor when that audio is played on a PA?

The mix should be the mix. If you are using MIDI to drive external synths rather than internal VSTi sounds, then presumably you then route these synths back to the cubase input and record them?

What comes out of your studio speakers should be the same as the PA - unless the PA has an extended bass response your studio monitors don't - but this is easy to check. Take a well known - full bandwidth commercial music track - something with proper bass at the bottom, male or female vocals in the middle and lots of cymbals sizzling at the top and play this on the PA. Does this too sound weak and too bassy?

If it does, then it's just that the two speaker systems reveal and hide things from each other.