Mic Probs Please Help

KelvinM

Hello, Im new to home recording and have recently received all my gear.
I have everything needed to record.
But When i tried to start recording with my MXL v67 and my prosonus audiobox usb I found a problem!
I have tried 4 different DAWs and 2 computers and i have found that the problem is something with my computer.
(It worked on my friends laptop)
The issue is that even though I have the Phantom power light on my interface on (and it seems to be working)
my mic records VERY quiet..
I have to have the mic in my mouth to even get a small signal.
I dont know much about computers but could it be my sound card or something in the hardware thats not supposed to record good quality.
I have spent countless hours on Forums, Chatrooms and support but nobody can help me.
I turn my mic property level settings to the max and it makes the quality terrible and still extremely low.
Please help me.

Details of YOUR computer please!
Meanwhile, assuming it to be Win7, go into the Audio Devices menus and check that the Audio Box is selected as the default record and playback device and that the levels are at 100% (initially, this might need trimming) .

If no joy, set the PC back to before the AB was installed using Restore then download the drivers afresh and install again. Connect the Box to a different USB port.

Dave.

It's possible that somewhere in your PC is a small audio control app that has a level control that is active. The fact it works on another PC fine is suggesting your call that it's your PC is accurate. My wife's office PC was always quiet on playing sound and the usual volume fader did very little. There was an installed dell app that had the volume set to half. This let me cure it. Maybe there's something similar lurking away in yours?

My specs

i also made sure that they were set too default
I was told it could be a sound card problem

Processor AMD A8-4555M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
Manufacturer AMD
Speed 1.6 GHz