mastering beginner, going into red ok?

musicify

Hello im just starting to do my own mastering and im trying to get it done without a compressor or limiter on the master.

so i got it where i balance out the volumes so i can get as much gain as i can but occasionally my master channel will go into +.0 -+.5 so it will hit red but i dont hear distortion, im only hearing distortion when get a couple db above 0. So is it in a sense ok to hit red if not going over very much?
If yes how much into the red will one start get distortion?

Thanks

I'm not a mastering engineer so I can only come as mix down engineer.What is the mix down coming in at, most times you dont want that coming in to much,like at -3db to -6db. As with Mastering most times you will use Eq and comperssion to raise the level to be louder. How you work things is normally up to you and your liking.

You/re not hearing it because most DAWs work at higher resolution internally....but when you dump that out to MP3 and/or play it back on typical CD players at 44.1/16...those small overs can become audible clips.

You're not really gaining anything level-wise with those .5 or even 1-2 dB overs, so pull them back.

The trick is to lower your peaks so you can increase your overall level...and for that you need some form of comp/limiter...or you can do it manually, but it's a lot of work.
There use to be an app called Peak Slammer from Scrollworks that let you only shave off peaks, easily, without touching the rest...but I don't know if you can still download it.

You/re not hearing it because most DAWs work at higher resolution internally....but when you dump that out to MP3 and/or play it back on typical CD players at 44.1/16...those small overs can become audible clips..
Likely it is clipping on your playback D/A -unless the master fader is below nominal/zero, but then the meter wouldn't indicate 'overs.. They're just small and short enough not to sound bad.