Low input from Sennheiser md421

lagartija

Hey everyone,
I'm a newbie and just recently have acquired focusrite 2i2 and a used Sennheiser md421-n. Also, I have a copy of shure sm57 or 58 (gls es57).

I wanted to check whether md421 works ok (since this is a vintage mic and a new buy). This mic has Kleintuchel (din with 3 pins) connector, so I have to make a new cable (with DIN female and male XLR connector). The first time I got it wrong and there was a ground hum. On the second time, I think I got it right, as the sound was very clear and there was no noise. The source was just me talking rubbish ☺️

The only problem is that the input from md421 is low, compered to GLS (I use different standard xlr-xlr cable with GLS). I swapped the wires in pin (-) and (+), but that did not change much. I have to turn the gain on 2i2 for about 80-90% in order to match GLS (about 30% of the gain).

Is there a way to verify whether the md421 is ok? If it is not I would like to return it to the seller.

Thanks for any help. I really appreciate it.

I would expect most dynamic microphones to need most AI gains to be at 80% full gain or more (SM7b !).

That of course depends how you are testing them! "Mary had" at a foot or touching grill? Acoustic guitar at a foot? Ac git is generally not a practical proposition with any dynamic and bog S pre amp. But!

The specs for those mics are weird! The modern, XLR 421 seems to have a sensitivity of around -55dBV/Pa, rather better than a proper 57 at -58dBV. Mind you that 3dB difference would probably not be noticed in normal use and is quite close to acceptable tolerance. That GLS on the other hand is SAID to have a sensitivity of just -72dBV (they don't give the SPL) and that WOULD be very noticeable and make the mic pretty useless IMHO for other than a real screamer.

Bottom line then. If you can get acceptable levels and low enough noise, it ain't broke, weird but not broke!

Dave.