iPad or home studio?

mr.zebra

hi all,

wondering if you can give me some advice. i want to start recording some of my music at home. i'm a multi-instrumentalist and singer, and most of my instruments are very definitely acoustic.

i was looking into getting a lambda desktop studio but suddenly occurred to me an ipad and recording music app might suit me just as well. what are your thoughts? if the latter - which app? and can i plug mics etc into an ipad?! i'm a pretty experienced musician but have always left the electronics to someone else and feel like a total beginner...

thanks anyone for any help!

mr.zebra

Ahoy Mr.Zebra

There are apps but your gonna need a bunch of other things.
I'll get a list together and post it later.

First questions:
What is the purpose of the recordings - do you want to post these on line/burn to CD for distribution, etc?
How intricate to you want to get with the recordings - multi-tracking, mixing, adding effects, or just 'you and your acoustic guitar single take'?
What do you have for microphones?
What's your budget?

hi mike,

thanks very much - so it's quite complicated as i play a number of instruments including piano, accordion, percussion, hammered dulcimer (tricky to mic but that's a different thread!). I'd need to be able to record them all over each other and mix/edit fairly easily - I think CuBase would suit my needs but was wondering whether GarageBand or MusicStudio apps for ipad would suit just as well (if Bjork can record a full album on an ipad i should be able to! if that's true, obviously) :)

budget is around 200GBP which I guess is sort of $300-350ish. and i don't have mics yet! but realise i'll need to...

Not much of a budget.
I just read an interview in Tape Op magazine with the guy who did the iPad thing with Bjork - it actually started out with a dedicated tablet, then the iPad came along so they developed it for that instead.