Introduction to Multitrack Computer Interface Recording

Very helpful post. I am very new to the world of analog-to-digital recording and I found the information to be very easy to follow.

Now pan one track completely to the left, the other to the right. The tracks should be almost identical but just different enough to give you a rich wide sound that can not be achieved by using a single mono track.

I just realised why stereo delays sound so good. "Phased thickening" of the sound at below 0.07ms or so delay time. The stereo aspect! Doh!

Other than that, excellent article.

This is Jerry Portal.
Recently i have joined this forum. I am here just to say hello and welcome to all of you.

Great sticky. I have been looking for infomative articles on home recording interfaces.
You have the Tascam US-1800 listed as having 16 in / 16 out. Tascams site says 16 in / 4 out.

Great sticky. I have been looking for infomative articles on home recording interfaces.
You have the Tascam US-1800 listed as having 16 in / 16 out. Tascams site says 16 in / 4 out.

4 out analog - it records 16 tracks into the daw

This is correct, what happens at the Input is.. there is an electronic circuit called a Difference Amplifeier which will amplify the Difference between the two signals . Any noise / electrical interference coming from other equipment like lights ... would be found in phase on both of the signal wires , because the Difference Amp circuit only amplifies the difference between the signals on the two wires it thus filters out the Noise / Electrical interference because this is not out of phase on the two wires......

Make sense?View attachment 65657

I've used balanced lines for years, and I never knew exactly how they removed interference.
(I guess I thought it was magic).
What a great explanation!
Thanks for the great thread.