Introduction to Multitrack Computer Interface Recording

arcadeko

Illuminatius Overlordious
This thread is in response to the large number of post I see in the newbies forum about getting started with digital recording. Most of these threads are some variation of: "I have a guitar and mic and... and i want to record music - how do I get it into my computer?" :confused: So while I am by no means an expert on the subject, I have within the last year done a lot of research and tried several interfaces. I think this general breakdown will give you a good feel for what is available today.

I'm going to make this super basic and in plain English for the uninitiated. I have added some definitions and references at the bottom. I am sure there are many people here that will be able to add much knowledge and information to this thread (And inform me of any mistakes I have made :rolleyes: ). I would encourage this. Hopefully I have not made too many blatant errors and this will help some people get started with the appropriate equipment.

So here we go...

What is an audio interface?
Simply put the device between your instruments and mics and your computer. Essentially this is a single piece of equipment, one end plugs into your PC* via USB or Firewire (or God forbid your on-board mic input) and the other end plugs into your guitar or mic, or electric ukulele or what-have-you.

A simple interface may only have one or two inputs (or no inputs and just built in mics) while others may be a full multi-track mixing console. There is a huge range of price and variety, I am sticking with lower end devices (under $1000) with input jacks as this is an introduction to the devices and by no means meant to be the definitive guide.

Some manufactures sell sound cards that can take a mic input, I have limited experience with them although I have used them for voice over work. They do a simple job and are cheap but I prefer the external interface so that is what this thread is about.