Introduction to Multitrack Computer Interface Recording

I thought your point about recording a basic guitar track twice then panning one to the left and the other to the right was really interesting. Is it better to record it twice, or just save the first track and then import it??? Just thinking about how obvious the differences will be in two seperate recordings.

You can do either - but if you can play it close to the same you can get a very nice thick sound with real double tracking as opposed to just copying tracks and adjusting their sound.

what would be the best audio interface that i should buy for $200? i just want to have a smooth and good quality recorded guitar tracks, and idk why my buddy uses line 6 ux2 but he still get some noise in his recording, im a newbie so i want to buy what can help me. i just have a basic computer setup amd athlon dual core, 3GB RAM. win 7 64 bit. any advice, im planning to buy an audio interface this coming monday, and i want to get a good audio interface for $200 or cheaper

This should really be a sticky. It's a well presented, well thought out and very helpful start point that answers, at least in part, probably 80% of the questions that turn up in the newbies forum.

434850d1305182377-ball-watch-company-engineer-ii-moonphase-automatic-complete-sale-bump.gif

Hi everyone. In the article, there is little mention of the outputs on the interfaces. Is that the term then, that "computer recording" is the process of recording on to the computer and staying in the computer for mixing etc? My challenge is understanding how the outputs of the interface go to an analog mixer for headphone mixes.Just using a mixer with the interface. I read the whole tweakheads site and did not find the analog mixer to soundcard article helpful at all. I'll keep looking around these forums.