Interface & Macbook not recognizing keyboard

VanRolly

Hey all,

Would really appreciate any help you can provide a total newbie like me.

My gear:
- Hardware: Macbook Pro
- DAW: Garageband
- Interface: Scarlett Focusrite 2i4
- Keyboard: M-Audio Keystudio 25

I have been recording guitar and vocals using the above setup without issue so far. Sounds pretty decent actually!

Recent was given the keyboard listed above, with the intention of hooking it up to my interface (via Midi?) to record keystrokes for fleshing out some tunes. However, I get nothing on either the interface (Midi light stays unlit) nor on Garageband (no signal).

I have connected via a Dual Midi Cable (per my local Tom Lee salesperson) from the keyboard direct into the "input" slot on the back of the 2i4. I'm obviously totally missing the boat on something here, but I'm not sure what.

Do I need an additional connection? A different connection (like should I be going directly to the Mac via USB)? Does the Mac need some sort of driver?

Totally at a loss here and would be grateful for any guidance.

Thanks!
Spencer

Hi there,
No, your mac won't need additional drivers or software, as long as the scarlett is recognised and functioning.

As far as I know you can use the 5 pin midi as you describe, or you can just use USB. Either is fine.
The scarlett should use the same type of cable, so you can always unplug your interface and test the keyboard over USB.
When testing via 5pin, your keyboard will need its power supply plugged in.

Audio/Midi setup in OSX might be useful. Fire it up and go to Window/Show Midi Studio.
That should show you your devices and allow you to test them, as far as I remember.

If you use USB your keyboard should show up by name.
If you use 5pin, the device name should be Scarlett.

Welcome to the forums! :)

Thanks for the response! Per your suggestions...

Hi there,
No, your mac won't need additional drivers or software, as long as the scarlett is recognised and functioning.