I'm new to recording audio, and need some starting equipment.

Charles Atlas

I've been all over the place trying to find the answers to my questions. Maybe you guys could help me out with some answers that I can't seem to find. Here's what I want to end up with: A recording interface with four xlr mic pre amps, four mics (duh), and the ability for everyone at a microphone to have headphones to monitor the audio. I know that probably sounds pretty basic, but I have had a ton of trouble finding out which piece of hardware is the best one as an interface. The other thing is that I am operating on a tight budget.

From my recent surfing of the internet I know that this will probably start a lively debate on what hardware is superior, so I'll just add what I have been looking at.

AT 2020 or 2035 for the mics, pretty much set on these.
This thing to split the audio output.
And the Akai eie as an interface. This is just about the price range that works for me, but I just want to get something that will operate reliably. Has anyone used this interface? Should it be avoided at all costs? Is there an alternative in this price range that is better?

Thanks a lot in advance, this is the type of hardware I am really not familiar with.

I think you're off to a good start. Never used the Akai or heard whether there are issues or not, but these days most consumer level interfaces are very similar in quality and function. If there are issues with it, it will most likely be the quality of the driver. Not saying there is...

The headphone amp will work for you.

Are you looking at having four SEPARATE monitor mixes? Or would one monitor mix that could be sent to four headphones work? Because if it's the first, you might need to invest in a headphone distribution amp. If it's the latter, you can easily buy just a cheap $20 Behringer headphone amp that has 4 headphone outputs.