I want to record my guitar tracks. I'm new to this and need your opinion

Kleudde

Hi All,

I have to record my guitar tracks for an album. My first time doing it. We recorded a demo playing live before but this time we have to record individually (my drummer is not in the same country anymore).

Here is what I have available:

I have 2 audio interface: RME Babyface and Focusrite Scarlet 18i20 (that we used for the demo). I read somewhere I should use the RME over Focusrite, any opinion on that?

My laptop:
8GB (2x4GB) 1600MHz DDR3L Memory
500GB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
i5-5200U Processor (3M Cache, up to 2.70 GHz)

(i was thinking of maybe upgrading my ram and/or put a SSD hard drive but might be overkill just to record one track at a time?)

I have a bunch of mics I could choose from (3 shure sm57, 1 audix i5, 1 audix F6 and 1 audix F5). I think sm57 is a standard to record guitar? I read somewhere I should use two mics ? If so which other one... the F6?

Here is a picture of how the room is : room.JPG

So what do you think of my setup? Should I change something? There is also a music store close by i could rend stuff for recording, anything that could make a big difference?

Thank you!

Why chose interfaces? You could set the 18i20 to operate "stand alone" and feed the ADAT output to the Babyface and STILL use the mic inputs on the latter. Ten tracks!

Then you can rig a gaggle of mics all over and round the amp and have loasafun for ages listening to mixes of the tracks! Now, that is all perfectly possible but to be a bit serious? Does not matter a **** for guitar amp. If you were recording a Hayden quintet in a fabulous hall, mayyybe the RME converters are better but I doubt you could prove it. (in any case, you would blag another lappy and run two systems for redundancy!)

Mics? Sm57 IS the default gitamp mic but there is nothing wrong with a 'new voice'. I see one of the Audix's is a 'kick' mic but no reason not to try it.