I want to record my guitar tracks. I'm new to this and need your opinion

Hi Dave,
The volume of the guitar was going at around 3/4 of the meter, i think it was a bit higher than -18 dBFS. What was clipping is the metronome that I had to put all the way up when I was recording to hear it properly over the guitar (which is muted in the track i sent in dropbox). It was always clipping. I sent it in mp3 for an opinion since it's smaller and faster to send and download but yes it is recorded in 24bits and 44.1KHz and of course it will be in wav what i will send to be mixed. I though It was decent but after listening to it i made some mistakes and the sound is not proper yet from what you're telling me... I'll try to do a better take next week-end. volume.png

Since you want a wav here is the link with the metronome : Dropbox - verglas sanglant avec tempo.wav

And without metronome : Dropbox - verglas sanglant tempo mute.wav

Thank you again for all your tips. So far I never sounded that good so I'm happy but clearly I see have to learn a few other tricks :)

Yes, better (to me!) the fizz has subsided a bit and the level, in the second .wav down to neg 10. I have to repeat, not my genre! (but although I am a JSBach man I have spent many happy evenings jamming with son, he on guitar, me on bass and TRYING to sing! Mostly old Quo stuff and Beatles but I do like SOME HM, Paranoid e.g.) I really do have to compliment you on your dedication!

But, AGAIN I have to make it plain that I DO NOT RECORD guitars! (did a bit for son a couple of years ago but not HM) I really have NO IDEA if you are getting the sound you should.