I could do with a little guidance - audio for a small budget video setup

sugarman

Hello

First post, so I'll introduce myself. My name is John. I live in Chapel Hill, NC, and I am a full time soccer coach.
I have been asked to put together a series of coaching videos. So far these have been skype interviews using a free tool to record them. In future I’ll be capturing parts of my screen, adding video from other sources, etc. I am trying out Wirecast at the moment, and love everything about it but the price. Although I am being paid for the videos, it is not much. This is a small budget setup.

The current setup

Laptop
Samsung Series 9 ultrabook, i7 @ 1.7, 8gb ram, 250gb ssd. It is running Windows 8.1 which I am happy with, but willing to switch to linux if needed. I have cubase le, ableton live lite, and reason limited. I also have Audacity and the full version of Adobe Audition.
Wirecast is fantastic. It is expensive though. I am trying out xsplit at the moment. Live broadcasting is not a requirement. I am new to video editing though and these two have caught my eye.

Camera
I spent a long time looking at DSLR’s. Their 20 minute video limitation is a show stopper. HD cameras like the vixia are tempting, but I’d need a blackmagic type box to convert the signal into the laptop. In the end I opted for the Logitech C920 webcam. It is surprisingly good. 720 easily, 1080 at a push I think. For skype interviews where I don’t need a big depth of field it is good enough. At seventy bucks the price is good as well. For filming at the field I am hoping I can get something from my old point and click (powershot s95). Failing that I’ll push a gopro or smartphone. Most of video will be webcam and desktop stuff. I am not too concerned field stuff right now. The audio line is where I could really do with some advice.

Current Audio Chain
My voice -> Zoom h4n in usb mic mode -> laptop -> external usb powered soundcard -> headphones