How to record guitar, Focusrite, ART DPS II

RSullivan

This is a real newbie question!

I have:
1.) Dell 8900. I believe that the sound card is a Realtek ALC3861 7.1 integrated audio (No digital inputs!)
2.) Reaper.
3.) ART DPS II Pro.

I am re-starting my home recording studio (getting rid of old equipment, moving to DAW).
I want to record my guitar via mike'ing the cabinet (I do not like DI / Emulators).

It seems I have two options:
1.) ART DPS II Pro.
But my Dell 8900 does not have a digital input on it (Digital outputs on the ART are S/PDIF & ADAT).
So it seems to me I would need to purchase a 'better' sound card with digital inputs. Am I correct?
If so any suggestions for the sound card?
2.) Focusrite 2i4.
Maybe I should just purchase one of these?
It seems that the sound card would be irrelevant then?
About USB:
I am a programmer and the usage of USB in this device makes me somewhat Leary.
It seems to me that USB (the 'S' is for serial) would cause additional latency? Am I correct?

Thanks for any input.

Pretty much all USB recording interfaces have a low latency input monitoring feature. This bypasses the trip to the computer entirely and routes the signal to the line and headphone outputs more directly. One common way to do it is with a simple analog mixer circuit inside the interface, usually with a knob to control input/playback balance. That gives you true zero latency monitoring. Many interfaces use onboard DSP controlled by an app on the computer. This has very little latency if set up correctly.

Thanks for the help (and patience).

So, I will run out tomorrow and get a Focusrite 2i2.
I will use the ART as a Preamp if I think it sounds good.

I believe everything you are saying and am sure that an 2i2 will work for me but I still have
A curiosity / question about 'monitoring'.

I have read the Focusrite 2i2 manual.
It says I will set the default input and output in my DAW (Reaper) to the 2i2.

Ok, I get that.