How to necessary is it to learn compression/equalization?

Cyath

Hi all. Thanks for the help on my other thread. I want to start a YT channel for song covers, but I thought I'd do a little research first.

I once attended a voice acting class where the teacher taught us a little basic equalization (which I have forgotten now...) I'd like to know just how important knowing mixing techniques is to producing a quality recording. I have a Steinberg pre-amp for better recording quality, but do I need to know more than that? Or can I just get away with recording as it is?

I fiddled a bit with it in Audacity but I don't note an increase in sound quality either way. Of course I am not a professional.

Any advice is welcome!

Hi there, and welcome to HR,

Necessary is defined by your personal needs and circumstances.
If you want to capture a natural dynamic performance and are not concerned with the idea of competing with commercial releases, in terms of volume, then you may not need compression at all.
Compression is used to make things less dynamic which, in turn, means the whole thing can be (seem) louder.

Say you have three levels - Shout, speak, and whisper.
If I compress that heavily, then turn it up, the shouts are still shouts, the speaks are shouts, and the whispers are speaks. See?

EQ, again, just depends. If you have good gear and a good environment and your source sounds good (read:in the ideal world) you won't need EQ.
In the real world, you probably will.

Whether it's as simple as rolling off a little bass or boosting high end slightly to make your recording slightly brighter, it's probably good to have these tools in your arsenal.

The aim of your channel should play a part in your approach.
If you have a snazzy well produced channel with great graphics and introductions, then a vocal performance recorded in a bathroom with a webcam, that's not going to fit well.