How Does One Compose with a DAW?

Chidsuey

I'm new to DAWs, but not digital composing. I've been writing music for years using only Finale, but it seems like DAWs are more robust in every way. I still don't quite grasp how one composes on a DAW, as there isn't much of a score manager in any of the ones I've looked at. Is it generally only with an external keyboard? How do you compose with loops? It seems like so many are just samples and can't be modified in any way. Overall I'm just confused about the entire process. All I know is, DAWs are what industry professionals use for scoring just about anything. If that's too vague I'm sorry, and I'll answer any questions you might have if you could help point me in the right direction. Thanks a lot!

In a lot of cases, composers DON'T use their DAW for actually composing. It's pretty common to composed in one piece of software then render to wave files and mix on the DAQ.

I know a couple of people who make their living composing. One uses Sibelius and the other uses Sonar. The two workflows are quite different but both end up with a paper composition plus MIDI and/or WAVE versions that can then be mixed in a DAW. (I should say that Sonar is sold as a DAW and many use it that way but my friend finds it very clunky and limiting when he gets to the mixing audio stage.

As camn says, there are DAWs that let you work "all in one' but most are better for one side or the other.

The term DAW covers a wide array of applications. It doesn't necessarily have to mean computer programs. It could be a keyboard with a built-in sequencer and editing capabilities. It could be a standalone studio system. Or a computer based recording system. Most of the time, we refer to a DAW as a computer program like Cubase, Sonar, Protools, but it's any system of tools used for creating music.

So, when you ask about composing with a DAW, what do you mean?