How do you deal with bands that don't show up to record?

AndrewClaycomb

I'm not sure where the right place for this to go is...

Today I blocked the entire afternoon to track drums for a band, I also have this same band scheduled on Friday and Saturday. Well they were supposed to show up at 11 am. I waited until 12 and went to get some lunch, came back and did some mixing on some other stuff all afternoon. I didn't get a call, nothing.

Should I allow them to record later in the week? I'm not charging them to do this, I just wanted some practice. But I'm charging other bands now, so I could have fit a paying band in if I knew they weren't going to show. What's the best way to handle them? I don't want to piss anybody off because I'm starting to get work entirely through word of mouth. (I'm a full time student, so I don't need the money but it's nice to have it to buy more gear!)

Just goes to show you that people value things according to what they have to pay for them.

I'd charge them from now on out.

If you'd arranged a time and date to do some recording and they can't be arsed to show up, then sod them. Don't stand for their ignorance.

I've only had one band who've done that kind of thing before. They tried to use the 'rock & roll' excuse but at the end of the day, it's complete ignorance. You don't want to be helping (That's what your doing!) people who can't be considerate enough to turn up on time.

Either charge them or tell them to f*&k off.

:)

I agree, the next time they want to schedule time with you, let them know that you are charging for your time now, and they can have it for a price; and a downpayment in case they blow you off again.

Apparently, the band felt your time and equipment was worth exactly what you were willing to charge them. It's not fair to you for them to not even give you a courtesy call to say they weren't coming in.