Home recording with synths.

Dylon92

I've been a musician for quite some time but I'm a complete newb when it comes to recording. My current set up is this: Roland Gaia and JDXi, Waldorf Blofeld and Streichfett, Korg ms20 Mini, Arturia MicroBrute, Teenage Engineering pocket operators, Gakken sx150, the Korg monotron series and an Alesis sr16. I'm currently setting up a very basic home studio. I have a Shure sm58 and sm57 to record vocals, my melodica and my ukulele. The multitrack I'm using will be the Zoom r8.

That being said, my question is this: What cables and other equipment will I need to properly record my synths into the r8? Can I use, say the gaia, as a midi out for the Streichfett and record It directly into the r8 as well? And lastly can I record the Alesis sr16 directly into the zoom?

I had a tascam 8 track years ago that I used to record an acoustic album, but it was not digital. And I'm completely new to recording digital and to recording synths. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

"WILL be the R8" have you bought it yet? If not IMHO don't.

My suggestion would be a muliti input Audio Interface such as the Tascam 16-08, that will certainly take all the inputs you need. Without Googling each one can I assume they are all keyboards/syths/sound generators of some sort? Naturally you cannot play more than two keyboards at a time* but it makes sense to have everything plugged ready to go. The mic pre amps on the Tascam are likely better than the R8(this is not to say the Zoom is not a useful thing, it is but not, I would aver as the "central control" of a project studio?

*The keys are however surely " MIDI'ed"? Thus you could probably play them all at once! The Tascam can also record MIDI data, the R8 cannot.

Dave.

"WILL be the R8" have you bought it yet? If not IMHO don't.