Hi from another newbie

CAM1

Hi all.

Im fairly new to this and have only been using a second hand beaten up laptop with Cubase Elements8 for a few weeks and getting mostly frustrated. Planning a new desktop soon so I will probably have lots of obvious questions to ask. although Ive already learnt a lot just browsing the forum.
Cheers for now and look forward to joining the discussions.

Cameron

Hi all.

Im fairly new to this and have only been using a second hand beaten up laptop with Cubase Elements8 for a few weeks and getting mostly frustrated. Planning a new desktop soon so I will probably have lots of obvious questions to ask. although Ive already learnt a lot just browsing the forum.
Cheers for now and look forward to joining the discussions.

Cameron

Hi Cameron and welcome.

If the laptop is not that powerful it will likely struggle with Cubase, you can download and use Reaper for as long as you can stand the nag and then stump up £40 for it when you can't.

If all you want to do at present is record a bit of guitar/vocal and dub a few tracks almost any computer capable of running Win 7 will do the job. It is when you want to run several tracks with realtime plugins such as reverb that you need the horsepower and to some extent memory.

But! Your first priority (cos you haven't mentioned having one) is an Audio Interface. My reccies' in price order are....
M-Audio M-track Mk1 (aka Alesis iO2) 80quidish
Steinberg UR22 £100
Native Instruments KA6 £160.

Dave.

Hi Dave
Thanks for the reply
I posted on the digital recording and computers forum more details which I hope show where I am equipment and knowledge wise and where im planning going. If you could have a look at it I would appreciate any further advice you have on the best way to get there. This laptop has to go it freezes, blue screens and seems to just go on holiday when it wants

Thanks

Cameron

Hi everyone