Heres what I want to do...How do I do it?

SteveP

Hello, and thank you in advance for your input, this site is great. I'm just getting into home recording and I just bought a AMDK6-2 475mhz, 96MbRAM, 20 Gb hard drive computer.
The system comes with a ESS M2 PCI Sound Card. I want to be able to record two tracks simultaneously (ie. two guitars)and then layer those tracks with anything I want...voice, drums via durm machine, bass and eventually keys. I want to also burn my own Cd's, eventually, but for now I'll be happy with a good quality recordings stored on my hard drive. I will be using Cakewalk 7 recording software. From everything I've read I need a mixer and quality sound card... I don't know anything about sound cards, Where does the sound card that comes with this system above rank in the world of sound cards? Does a drum machine use midi cables? Should I definately get a sound card with midi capabilities? And can you recommend a sound card mixer combination that wont break my bank? The world of sound cards is overwhelming... I don't know where to start, even after reading for two weeks. I want the Honda of sound cards, middle of the road, high quality, sounds good when running and will start every morning. For my needs, what should I look for in my sound card? Do I have all the components that are necessary for a decent studio...Mic, Mixer, Sound Card, Rec software? How does my "planned" system look on paper? I know there are a lot of questions here I would apprecaiate any input. Thank you.

Howdy,
Well your system sounds like it is pretty well set. Although the onboard sound card may not like playing with Cake Walk. I just bought a new computer and expierenced that problem. Had to go inside change a jumper to turn it off and install a S.B. aw64. I'm using C.W. pro7, AMDk6/2@400mhz, 128meg ram, 30gig HD. plugged into a Behringer, and RW5000 CDRW. It all works verry well together. And for live work I use an AArdvark 20/20 that way I can get 8 in and out.