help please

Flicker

Hi I am a complete novice and really appreciate some help.
I record meditation cds and used a portable handheld recorder.
but wanted some thing that would give me a better clearer sound
last year I bought under guidance from a music shop a
mxlr141 ribbon mic and the alsis ios2 for my laptop. I have by
good luck rather than by knowledge managed to record some work
but I am disappointed as I have a loud hissing noise that goes with it.
I know I must have the sttings wrong but dont know where to start. Thanks.

My first thought would be gain staging.

What does your volumes look like? Start at your first input gain. Is it cranked? Any preamps in the chain that have the gain cranked?

What I'd look at is getting the right gain (volume) at each stage. Pre's can get noisy (hiss) if cranked too high.

Hi I am a complete novice and really appreciate some help.
I record meditation cds and used a portable handheld recorder.
but wanted some thing that would give me a better clearer sound
last year I bought under guidance from a music shop a
mxlr141 ribbon mic and the alsis ios2 for my laptop. I have by
good luck rather than by knowledge managed to record some work
but I am disappointed as I have a loud hissing noise that goes with it.
I know I must have the sttings wrong but dont know where to start. Thanks.

A quick but not exactly cheap solution is this...Cloudlifter CL-1 | Cloud Microphones | "Elevate Your Sound"

Yes, costs more than the interface! The problem is, no one here would have suggested a ribbon microphone for voice over work. Well, not at least with a budget AI such as the ios2. Now one of our very respected recording guys here is a great fan of the Alesis FOR THE PRICE. But I am sure even he would agree that you are not going to get pre amps good enough for most ribbon mics at anything like that money. Indeed I do not know of ANY AI really good enough for such a low output mic.