Help: Interfacing MultiTracker with PC?

Jinglez

Firstly I would like to say Hello!

So for an introduction. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to hardware, I'm much more comfortable in the realm of software.
A while back a friend gave me a Fostex MR-8HD multitracker and MXL 992 Condenser Mic. Im trying to use this gear in conjunction with my PC which is a HP Pavillion Elite 'HPE 500y'.

So I will explain what it is I want to do exactly, and hopefully you lovely people can point me in the right direction.

I want to use the Condenser mic to record vocals, but I dont want to record them onto the multitracker HD. I just want to use the multitracker for its phantom power, which my condenser mic needs to operate.
So ideally I want to stream the mic audio straight from the multitracker and into my PC, to be recorded using software on the PC.

Is this possible with my current gear? Do i need additional equipment? Are there any work arounds?
I would like to accomplish this task with minimal additional purchases if at all possible(Im broke as a joke).
The research I've done so far suggests to me that i may need something like the "M-Audio Fast track" and drop the MR-8HD from the equation completely. I would like to make use of what I already have though.

Tips? Suggestions? Advice? Help?

Thanks, Cheers!

You can do it with what you have* but you probably can't "stream" it directly from the unit as it won't have that type of capabiity.

Your unit will accept the incoming signal and convert it to digital, so it's just a matter of getting the digital file from the unit and importing into your DAW software on the PC. Should be easily done these days.

Or, you can assign the Fostex device to its rightful role as a doorstop, get an audio interface and go direct. If you go this route, do your reseach and don't get a single channel device. Eventually you'll want two channels, if not more.

*I'm assuming the device outputs digital files somehow. Read your manual.