Help! How to route my mixer so I can monitor effects using my computer

kelitupu

Hello all,

Thanks in advance for your help. This is somewhat long, so your patience is greatly appreciated.

I'm a novice recorder trying to figure out the best way to get in and of my mixer -- specifically, I'd like to be able to monitor effects AND my MIDI synth while recording my vocals (or any other signal, guitar, bass, whatever).

My specs:
Recording on a MAC466 with 796RAM
Soundcard: Delta 44 (4 in, 4 out)

1) Right now, I'm going out of my mixer Alt 3-4 bus into 1-2 of my soundcard.

2) I'm feeding my monitors with the mixer main outs.

3) I'm sending mixer Aux send 1-2 into Delta cards 3-4 Ins.

4) I'm going out of Delta 1-2 into channels 3-4 of mixer (monitor vocals)

5) I'm going out of Delta 3-4 into mixer channels 7-8.

6) I'm going from my MIDI Synth (a JV1010) into Channels 5-6 of mixer.

That's working fine for recording vocals.

Now I want to monitor effects (using my software, Logic Platinum 4.8), and I don't quite understand how to get in and out of my mixer to return the effects signal. I'm aware that I can use my Aux Sends going to an outboard effects processor, but I'd like to be able to monitor live with my software--at least for now.

I can get monitor effects using my software (Logic) when I'm not recording, but because of the way I have it set up (using the Alt 3-4), it interrupts the signal flow going to my MAC, so that's why I can't do both at the same time. Or that's what I think.

Should I go from the Main outs into 1-2 of my Delta, and out of mixer alt 3-4 into 3-4 of my Delta? If I did that, could I feed the monitors using the addition XLR outs behind my mixer? Or am I begging for a feedback loop here somewhere?

I've pasted my mixer specs below.

Thanks again in advance, and sorry if this is an annoying newbie question.

Behringer Mixer 1604A

Channel inputs 12
Mono channels 4
Stereo channels 4
Subgroups 2+2
INVISIBLE MIC PREAMPS 4