Hello from a newbie

karuzo

Hello,

Newbie here. Hope to get ton of info from you all. Please forgive some of my jargon as I may not use the correct terms for what I try to describe.
I started with mixing as a hobby and really like it. Watched countless videos and began messing with mixing. As a starter I chose Auria Pro on iPad, as I want this to be a mobile option. If this gets more serious for me, I’ll probably switch to a desktop station.

I have few questions, and will have more.

-I need to be able to mix with headphones almost exclusively due to nature of my home environment. Is it at all possible and reliable? If yes, can you recommend one? I don’t mind spending the money on it. I just played around the other with mixing drums to my liking on the headphones, just to hear it differently in my car’s speakers.

-I think I got the basics of understanding of compressors, EQ, etc… One question I have regarding EQ -at least for a beginner, I’d like to add a graphical EQ, showing all the frequencies ‘in motion’. I’ve seen online using EQ showing several instruments so you can adjust and balance the right zone for each. I assume they were all sub-grouped, and the EQ applied to that, as this seems to be the only way to show frequency of several instruments frequencies. Is typically the workflow to then apply changes to the EQ on the sub-group, or do you use that only for visualization, and then apply EQ on each separate track? Hope this question makes sense.

-to start mixing a project, it seems as everyone has their approach (start with vocals, or bass, or whatever). But, to see if I understand correctly, is the concept basically to set gain of one track/channel close to 0db, start with volume (fader) at -10db on master to give headroom, and then start blending in other tracks?

-is it correct to gain each channel to close to its 0db level before mixing?

Thank you for all the assistance.

Doron

Last edited: