Good start up monitors.

guitarplayrhank

I'm pretty much a total noob, I'm looking to build up my home studio. Next on the list is a set of monitors, but I have no idea what makes a good monitor good. Quite frankly just from a lack of experience. I'm doing research and reading on the subject, but it's slow. I'm going to be recording, acoustic and electric guitar, vocals, and some percussion. My question is, can anyone recommend a good set of monitors to start and learn on? What is a good starting point to build off of? I was considering some krk rokit 5s, or yamaha hs5s.
Any help is greatly appreciated!

Started with the Rokit 5s and quickly realized they weren't there. The 8s are much better. Remember, unless you're in an 8'x8' room, 70 watts is pretty minimal. There are several here that use the 8s. Adam 7s are also fairly popular. If you consider a sub, the 5s may be fine. I wanted the sound pure and flat without the extra bass. If your space is adequately trapped, you won't need the sub, just the 8s. (I'm still building my traps, so I'm not the best expert...).
Point is, no matter what you get. Pioneer, Yamaha, KRK or Behringer, once you have them and listen to lots of music around the genre(s) you'll be working with, you get a good idea of what sounds "right" through your monitors. Make sure you read or watch a good tutorial on placement to get the right angles/height (I made THAT mistake, too). My mixes always sounded way to bright. It was partially because of the lack of bass trapping in my space, but also because I was pointing the speakers at my chest.
Hope my mistakes can help you! :D