General DAW/Recording Questions

husker

I apologize for posting this here, but thought you folks might be able to help with some uber basic questions. If you can think of a more appropriate place to post, please let me know.

I am a professional IT guy, and part time piano player (I’m a much better IT guy than I’ll ever be a musician). I’m about to “retire” from a good bit of my work, and I’m looking to fill the time with two of my passions – computers/geek stuff and music. My main goal(s) are to buy a synthesizer, play some things, record them, layer them, learn about mixing, and generally “have fun.” I don’t have any interest in creating music to sell, but I am interesting in sounds and layering them.

I’ve done a ton of reading over the past few months, and always end up with far more questions than I have answers. I am looking at purchasing a keyboard workstation (Yamaha Moxf8, Roland FA-08, or Korg Kronos) to connect to my computer via USB.

I have a few basic questions:

1. As I understand, I can pull up my synthesizer, pick a sound, add a track to a Daw project, and record that sound piece into Daw. I can then pick another sound, add another track, and record that sound piece. Correct?

2. I understand there are also “virtual instruments.” As I understand, those are imported into the DAW, selected as a track input. I then reconfigure my keyboard to be a “midi controller,” so that it is sending midi data, not a sound? That is still done via USB? As I play, I then hear (through the computer) the virtual instrument?

3. A similar question – I see all these instrument packs (Komplete, Vienna Strings, etc.). Though I would not purchase anything that expensive while starting out, I do not really understand them. How do you play these with a keyboard? Are they simply files you add to Daw, and then play via midi with your keyboard? I see most rely on something called Kontakt. I'm not understanding how those sounds are recorded.