General Advice about a career in sound engineering

Thanks for your insight!
I am interested in improving my abilities with mixing and maybe mastering. I notice that you mentioned a few courses, but they appear to be for people who want to go into full time education.
I am already in full-time employment in an engineering role (mostly electronics and RADAR) and I only write and record music on a hobbyist level.
So, I would be interested in some study that I could do at home. Are there any courses out there?
Many years ago, I was a hobbyist jeweller and I eventually built up a small business making jewellery to order. I am happy to start out as an independent, very small-scale studio maybe grow it from there. It is an ideal, but non-the-less, if I work at it and don't expect instant success, then I may get to work at it full time, but realistically, I'll see how it goes and just enjoy recording and audio work rather than try to force it to pay me a living :)
It's been fun reading the various responses and viewpoints.
Okay, I'll just wind it up now as I may already be straying off topic :eek:

...I only write and record music on a hobbyist level.
So, I would be interested in some study that I could do at home. Are there any courses out there?

There's a lot on youtube (search for the subject that interests you), and a lot of useful how-to videos on the various software maker websites, usually focusing on how to best utilize their product(s). I know Cakewalk has a bunch. Watching videos will give you a few ideas, but the best teacher is practice and lot of trial/error.

Thanks for your insight!
I am interested in improving my abilities with mixing and maybe mastering. I notice that you mentioned a few courses, but they appear to be for people who want to go into full time education.
I am already in full-time employment in an engineering role (mostly electronics and RADAR) and I only write and record music on a hobbyist level.