Garage Band Recording Setup? $500 budget

lepardman

I just want to thank everyone for the help in my last thread, I love recording music and you guys have helped me tremendously.

--

I want to start recording some music with my friends. I'm very new at this, keep in mind.

We have a guitar, piano, and vocals. So potentially 3 mics needed? Idk
1 for acoustic guitar
1 for piano (not electric)
1 for vocals?

I have a windows 10 laptop to use to record with Reaper.

We are just wanting to recording music at a semi decent level, we dont need amps or anything.

Thanks!

This is rather more complex a problem than it first appears but there is a simple solution IF you are all good musicians and can produce a good balance "out in the room" as a performing band. For that you could use just a stereo pair* of mics set up in front of the band. For that setup you just need a matched pair of cardiod mics and an Audio Interface. But, I suspect you are thinking more of miccing up individual instruments and recording to separate tracks?

The latter would require a 4 mic input AI (no 3 way jobs AFAIK) but in practice you would probably need 2 mics on the piano and acoustic guitar is better done with 2 mics. Will the vocalist be playing either instrument? If so that complicate 'spill'.

I SHALL get a bit of stick for this but, look at USB mixers, they only render multiple tracks to a pair of stereo tracks but are a lot cheaper than a 4 mic + interface. IF you go mixer though, get a later model that runs a 24bits. Allen & Heath and Souncraft are a good start. IF you can run to a m'track AI the Tascams have ever been excellent VFM.

*Google 'Co-incident recording'

Dave.