Gain and Hum - Mic, Mixer or Incompetence Problem?

wombatzoner

I'm not sure if this is a mic, mixer, or cable problem, and since I'm new and can't rule out simple ignorance, I'm posting this here.

I'm just getting started with recording. Some friends and I want to do some 'radio theater' style productions, and I'm the poor schmuck who volunteered to assemble and operate the recording equipment. I've got the mixer connected, the software installed and have made a few recordings.

So far so good. Unfortunately, I'm having a heck of a time with this really annoying hum on the mics, and I'm not sure what to do to fix it.

Equipment:
Mixer: Alesis Multimix 12 Firewire
Mics: Two Shure SM58 and one SM63 mics (all three are connected the the 3-pin XLR jacks on the mixer with 25' XLR cables)
Software: Cubase LE on a Mac

Material: The bulk of what we're planning on recording is spoken voice only for the most part, as well as some in-studio (okay, in-basement) sound effects.

First Question: In order to get the level LEDs on the mixer to even approach 0, I have to turn the gain dial for each microphone channel 3/4 of the way or more to maximum. If I don't do this, the recordings are way too quiet in Cubase. I understand mics do need to be pre-amped to be heard clearly, but is it normal to have to turn the gain up so much?