Freeware Audio Sequencers?

coopkenta

Ok...I'm just an amature whos only been recording for a few months...I'm on a really REALLY tight budget and I dont have the money to just go out and buy some nice recording software...

So my question is...Do y'all know of any really good free substitutes for Cubase or Protools etc? I'm using Kristal Audio Engine, and its "ok", but I think I could do better.

Any ideas?

I've been using Jazz++ since 2001. New version on Dec 20, 2008
https://sourceforge.net/projects/jazzplusplus/
Jazz++ is a full featured, audio capable, cross-platform MIDI sequencer. Jazz++ offers a lot of functions normally only found in expensive sequencer software, and is used by professionals and hobby musicians all over the world.​
I create my sequences / drum tracks in JAZZ++ then import the MIDI into my DAW and apply VST Instruments

Here's a link to documentation with screen shots http://jazzplusplus.sourceforge.net/manual/jazz_contents.html

If you want something difficult, Traverso is supposed to be a good pro tools rip-off. (I can't tell my ass from my head in it though.)

If you're looking for something different but fun to experiment with, try Jeskola Buzz. It's my personal favorite.

Le

Cubase LE is often bundled with hardware products, it's a light version of Cubase, but still very good. I'm sure someone out there must have a copy of LE, which they don't use because they've got it's bigger brother.

Or, try a search for LE on-line and see if it cones with a bit of software you DO want to buy. I've seen LE bundled with software as cheap as £50

I've been using Jazz++ since 2001. New version on Dec 20, 2008
Jazz++ is a full featured, audio capable, cross-platform MIDI sequencer. Jazz++ offers a lot of functions normally only found in expensive sequencer software, and is used by professionals and hobby musicians all over the world.​
I create my sequences / drum tracks in JAZZ++ then import the MIDI into my DAW and apply VST Instruments