A few questions about Audio Recording Techniques

michaellanfield

Hi. I am a newbie when it comes to audio recording and would appreciate some assistance and tips on home studio recording.

My Equipment:

Computer:
Macbook Pro (Late 2013 Retina, MacOS Sierra 10.12.2)

Video:
Logitech C930e webcam (sometimes I use my JVC GZ-E300BU HD camera for more professional video recordings).

Audio:
Focusrite Scarlette 2i2 (2nd Gen), Interface with CM25 MKII Condenser Mic and Nandy MPF-6 pop filter. Boom pole attached to an Auray mic stand.

Recording location:
My bedroom is not soundproof, but all windows and doors are closed. I live right next to a street, not very loud with slight traffic noise. The traffic noise is picked up by the mic when turning up the audio gain knob 3/4 of the way or more.

For voice narration
1. Where should I position the mic and how far should the pop filter be from my mouth when talking? At what audio level should the audio gain be set to?
2. I read in many places that I need to record my voice in mono, but will the recordings still come out of both the left and right audio channels (left and right speakers)? I thought mono means one channel?

For video recording
1. Logitech currently does not have an app or software support for my version (10.12.2) of MacOS, so I use Quicktime Player to record the video and audio. However, when I play back the recordings, they are only coming out of one audio channel/speaker. Why and how to fix this?