feedback problem with AKG P220 MIC.

Erikalon1

Hello all, apologies if i have posted in the wrong section but i was hoping for some help with something.
I recently bought an akg p220 studio condenser microphone along with a Behringer Q502 usb audiogram.

Im having two problems currently. 1. There is an annoying feedback noise behind every recording i do (sort of like white noise) so obviously once i record more layers it becomes more an more prominent and when it comes to having my tracks mastered the recording does not suffice. I dont believe its my sound card though, as i borrowed my friends ode NT1A Studio Microphone and did not have this problem what so ever! (although problem 2 still occurred, which i will get to now.) My second issue is whenever i record the only way i can reach a desired or even 'normal' vocal recording volume is if the GAIN knob is turned to maximum. Otherwise the recording is extremely quiet.

i'm very new to all this so please be kind!!

There are a few things to check

1 Make sure phantom power is on.
2 Make sure mike channel level and main mix level are turned to 0
3 Make sure the 'USB to main mix' button is not pressed (only press it when you want to hear what you've done)
4 Make sure the compression knob is in the off position

I did all of the above mentioned and now it doesnt record any sound whatsoever :( im using cubase. Could it have something to do with the program??

hmm i see! Thankyou all very much for your help. i originally purchased the yamaha audiogram 3, but the dealer called me and said they were no longer in stock and that the q502 would substitute perfectly... i guess he lied. I will get onto a different audio interface and let you know how i go!!

thanks so much!

Solution: get a USB audio interface. Mixers are for mixing, AIs are for recording.