Feedback and clarity solutions?

AlienRayBeam

What can I do to minimize feedback/noisiness and get more clarity out of high-gain chords?

I'm a complete noob. I'm currently using the most recent version of Garageband with an Presonus Audiobox 22vsl and DI inbox. I know very little about home recording. For my guitars, I usually stack 4 tracks (2 high shelf far left/right and 2 low shelf mid left/right). I use noise gate and feedback protection but it's still very noisy and generally unclear, even after I got in and splice the recording up to eliminate feedback (which is incredibly tedious). Whenever I play chords on a high gain amp, I've corrected most of the feedback issues but it's overall very mushy. There's no clarity between the notes and it just sounds bad.

I am not a fit judge but from reading much about guitar sounds here and other places "High Gain Amp" and wanting "Clean, defined chords" seems a contradiction in terms?

High gain tends to mean 'distortion' and that means intermodulation products that will 'fuzz up' the notes.

I guess we shall have to wait until you can post some clips (attached, 320k MP3 please) and then the "proper" recording people can comment.

Dave.

where is the feedback coming from? isn't that a guitarist amp/processing/placement function? It would feedback even if you weren't recording? Sounds like it's n to really a recording problem is it? Loads of guitarists live put up with all kinds of noise - so many crank in loads of gain for the sound they want, and gain produces noise. Some guitar amps and processors would never be acceptable a recording product. We get cross with TINY amounts of hiss. What guitarists consider low noise is often really bad. As said, bring on the example clips please.