Do i need a blue icicle to connect to my mac?

Turfware

Hello, first post on the forums, because I am new to audio and would like to get the cheapest option to connect my two AT2020 XLR mics to my Mac laptop. I would like to preface I was handed down a big mixer when my friend passed away and would like to put it to some good use...Now I have read online that the mics need phantom power and that the mixer could supply that. So if that is the case, could i just plug an XLR to usb cable in the output and plug that into my mac, or would i need to purchase a blue icicle (has phantom power) between an XLR cable and a mini usb to usb cable...for the mac to recognize the mics...

P.S. I found there is a button kinda by itself on the mixer titled (+48v) not sure if that has something to do with it...and if it should be pressed or not.

Thank you for taking the time to read this! I thought this would be the right place to ask this question. :)

You don't need the icicle, pretty sure that wouldn't work anyway. For a few dollars more you can get into a decent audio interface, like this one here for example, that would allow you to either plug your 2020s directly into the interface (which also supplies phantom power) or you could route the output of your mixer into the interface if you just had to use the mixer.

That +48 button is what turns phantom power on and off on the mic pres.

If you go the XLR to USB option you will only realistically be able to use one mic (USB device) at a time within your recording software. If you are trying to use both mics at the same time it won't work.

The interface in the link in my first post gives you two options; it has 2 microphone preamps built into it that can provide phantom power but those inputs also give you the option of using balanced line outs from your mixer and plugging them into the interface. Something like this:

Option 1, 2i2 interface by itself (or any other USB audio interface with 2 preamps):