Digital Mixer/Audio Interface Suggestions

teacherdan

Hi,

I'm new to Logic, but have been home recording for the last seven or eight years. I started with Traction 2 and then switched to Garage Band a few years ago, when I bought a MBP.

I primarily record using an older Presonus Firebox (6in/8out), and it's usually just an acoustic guitar, occasionally piano and then vocals.

I'm a secondary school teacher (history), but I host an after school songwriters club once a week. Some of the songs the students write and record are amazing. We're starting to perform our songs once or twice a year live. So, I'm thinking about upgrading my interface.

I'd love to have the ability to track the students as a band (drums, 2 guitars, bass, 1 - 2 vocals) live, so I am looking into a digital mixer with a USB/Firewire/Thunderbolt out that lets me record the instruments and mics as individual tracks.

Thoughts or suggestions on a decent mixer that will fit the bill?

Thanks,

Dan

As long as you're only recording, you can do wonderful stuff with any interface.
Tascam's 16x08 unit is new, but is based on the us1800 that is rock solid ~300US (16 in 8 out).
Focusrite 18i20 currently comes with the free Red Series plugins and is a nice unit in the $450 range (18 in 20 out including including ADAT). You can also pick up the PreSonus equivalent for just $50 more.
The new Focusrite 192 USB is the first (that I know of) USB 3.0 interface. Has better preamp specs and goes 18 in/26 out if I remember. Runs $900.
There are also many others to choose from...MOTU 8Pre @ $550 and Steinberg 824 @ $800 are both strong contenders...
Prices go up from there

All of the interfaces have 8 preamps (2 vox + 6 drums) if you need more, you might have to do some digging. I believe Zen Audion makes an Antelope with 12 pres.