DAW vs other Workflow. Frustrated with computers...

mariosapm

Don't get me wrong. I get along with computers very well. But it seems that I always have problems working with DAWs and plugins. They give enormous potential but somehow I spend most of my time troubleshooting my DAW, hardware and plugins, and I don't have enough energy left to work on my music. I am not a pro by the way. But I don't have too much free time, and I hate spending it trying to be a sound and computer engineer all the time.

I was just wondering if other people had these same sentiments. Sometimes I wonder if working with a simple cassette 4 track and a drum machine would yield better results than what I achieve using Cubase.

On the otherhand there must be a reason why all-in-one compact studios are kind of extinct except for TASCAM. People must not share my troubles I guess. Or simply I might have been unlucky?

Don't get me wrong. I get along with computers very well. But it seems that I always have problems working with DAWs and plugins. They give enormous potential but somehow I spend most of my time troubleshooting my DAW, hardware and plugins, and I don't have enough energy left to work on my music. I am not a pro by the way. But I don't have too much free time, and I hate spending it trying to be a sound and computer engineer all the time.

I was just wondering if other people had these same sentiments. Sometimes I wonder if working with a simple cassette 4 track and a drum machine would yield better results than what I achieve using Cubase.

On the otherhand there must be a reason why all-in-one compact studios are kind of extinct except for TASCAM. People must not share my troubles I guess. Or simply I might have been unlucky?