Confused, in need of help?

Benreturns

A very basic question I know...

I use portastudio's, all in one multitracks.

Why do some 'home recordists' use a mixing desk? Even if its just them by themselves? Whats the point of recording one track at a time through the desk?? And, where does the recording actually end up?? Where is it stored??
AND, how do they mix the overall song after they've recorded the 16 tracks or whatever? Do they use the mixeing desk?? Does every channel have to be connected? Im under the impression that mixing desks cant store induvidual tracks... othawise they'd be multitradck recorders.

Can anyone clear this up?? As you can proboly tell im a newbie

The mixer is the same as the one on your portastudio but of higher quality and with more options. Each channel on the recorder is hooked up to a channel on the mixer and 2track recorder is hooked up to the main outs to record the final mixdown.

If you want to use a lot of external hardware effects than a mixer is the easiest way to utilize them.

Hey Ben,

(Maybe you already know this stuff.. If so please disregard)

See, there are Channels AND there are Tracks..

A Channel is a path the sound/signal takes.

A Track is where the sound/signal is stored for playback.

A "*Mixer" is a unit able to accept several signals from such things as Mic's, Guitars and Keyboards and give them each it's own path.

While each signal is going down its path you can adjust the Volume, EQ, Pan (Left or Right posistion) of each signal...

So basically a 16 CHANNEL mixer has the abilty to accept 16 seperate signals OR give 16 instruments their own paths (Same thing.)

Mixers DO NOT store the sounds, Mixers (Basically) ROUTE the sounds down paths so that you can adjust and blend them together (Mix them), before sending them to the recorder.

If you were using a Mixer with a Portastudio all of the signals would go into the mixer first, get blended, then sent out to the Portastudio to be recorded.