computers, software and talent

Even

Wow. That sums up my blown mind. Mac puter and a good interface. Now what? Jimminey, I just want to record a decent demo and burn it. I am sure it's me, but every software package I have tried assumes I am a computer tech. I want to record guitar, play it back while recording more guitar, play them back and record drums.. and so on. Please don't say cakewalk, it hurts even to read the word.I half want to ditch the whole show and grab a cassett deck...

So get a cassette deck. Nobody's forcing anyone to use a computer. The reason I talk about using computers so often is that they're very cost-effective for people who (a) want to record digitally and (b) are comfortable using them. They're certainly not the ideal answer for everyone.

well I was hoping for a bit more advice or recomendations on good and easy software. I kinda gathered that from the basis of this page, suggestions on improving and getting quality music for the musician at home who is fairly serious about the music. <shrug>

I was in this same boat about six months back... I knew I wanted to go the PC route because I was able to talk my girlfriend into buying a PC. I went with the cheapest high-quality software I could find... Cool Edit Pro... I knew dick about PC recording but figured out how to use the software in a few hours.
Cool Edit Pro has a weird learning curve... You can instantly begin recording on a novice level... and several months later you will realize that you havent learned much since. It is simple to use... yet I find myself tearing my hair out trying to do the simplest of things on it.
In a way I am recommeneding it, and in a way I despise it. It is the only recording software I have used so I am not the objective one.