Computerless recording setup - ideas ?

toddn

Hi.

I'm looking to set up a computerless home recording situation.

I'm a professional musician, who records at various studios, but want a home recording setup for my own research and study, also to possibly release, though that is somewhat secondary.

I need the sound to be good enough so that I'll want to listen back,
but do want a smooth work flow to get into the music.

I run a Linux based computer, and love it, but don't want to be recording in front of it.
I would love to find a computerless option for recording, and even basic playback, and then can do editing on the computer.

I recently purchased for extremely cheap an Akai DPS24. The workflow, and sound, was great. But, it quickly fell back into the problems that made it so cheap for me to buy.

The computerless options seem pretty limited... I'm considering buying a more reliable DPS24 as I loved it, but I know more problems are possible, and maybe even probable.
Setting up a more component based system seems intriguing. I was researching an Alesis HD24. Very reasonably priced now. Then buy a mixer, etc. Seems exporting tracks from the Alesis to a computer for editing isn't too difficult, though perhaps slow. The benefit of this approach too could mean slowly upgrading parts, i.e. start out with a decent basic mixer, then over time get a better one, etc.

Anyway, sorry if I'm repeating a very similar post, but if anyone has ideas that might fit, it'd be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

My first thought is it's going to be tough to find software for Linux to do your editing in. Not knocking Linux, I love it myself, but ALL professional audio software that I personally (emphasis on personally) have heard of are for either Windows or OSX.