Comparing 8 Input USB / Firewire Interfaces

Witterings

I think I'm going to have to go down the 8 input USB / Firewire Interface route, I want to use it mainly for recording drums but also the rest of a band sometimes as well.
If anybody has any input on the following selection it would greatly appreciated, with the current economic climate I am very budget conscious as well although I don't want to spend good money on something that's not up to the job as that's just a false economy.
I'll mainly be recording onto Reaper and whilst I'm still very new to this have heard a lot about latency causing problems so if any are paticularily vunerable would try and avoid them. There also seems to be a debate whether USB 2.00 or Forewire is the way to go and I'm not sure what the differences are although whilst my current computer has a Firewire connector it seems to be "going out of fasion" and if it's likely to be phased out would probably avoid it as if I upgrade the computer in the future and there's no Firewire available I'll have to change the Interface - again though anyones input on that greatly appreciated as well.

The two I'm most interested in at the moment are:

Tascam US1641 http://www.tascam.com/products/us-1641.html
In all honesty because currently budget conscious it's the cheapest and if it'll do a good job then I'd probably go with this unless there are some serious negatives or the others offer much more in comparison

And

Zoom R16 http://www.samsontech.com/products/productpage.cfm?prodID=2009
I like this in case I ever do want to record live gigs and it's portability however I'll be recording straight to Reaper most of the time and if the budget for development of this was concentrated on the recording as opposed to the Interface and as a result other interfaces were better / more compatible / easier to record to Reaper then I'd forgo the added benefit of an easily transportable recorder